[Update] ESA has successfully launched their new Earth observation satellite, the Sentinel-2B, which is now in space and making it’s way to its polar, sun-synchronous orbit around 490 miles above the Earth, alongside Sentinel-2A in the task of capturing the Earth from space.

But what you really want to see is that launch right? Well here’s a fantastic GIF showing the launch of the Vega rocket in a full animated format for you:

Also here’s our Twitter moment with more GIFs and a historic timeline of the launch:

You can read more about Sentinel-2B’s mission below.

[Original Story] Today the European Space Agency (ESA) will launch an Earth-observing satellite called the Sentinel-2B.

They will launch the satellite on top of a Vega rocket from Kourou, French Guiana at 8:49 p.m. EST/ 1:49 a.m. GMT tonight/ tomorrow, with live launch coverage available just before the launch from 7:30 p.m. EST/ 12:30 a.m. GMT tomorrow.

Sentinel-2B will be the second satellite within a two-satellite constellation, which has been designed to observe the Earth and its resources.

The first satellite in this group was Sentinel-2A, which was launched back in June 2015.

If all goes to plan, Sentinel-2B will be on a polar, sun-synchronous orbit around 490 miles above the Earth, joining Sentinel-2A, which currently occupies the same orbit, but it will be separated by 180 degrees to maximise the coverage between the two.

You can watch re-watch the launch of the Sentinel-2B via the embed below.

This article may include links to affilates, and if you click on one of these affilate links, we may recieve commission.